Let’s Eat: Lankford Grocery – Houston

My uncle watches Food Network probably as much as my son and I do. As, you may know – I like to go to places they’ve shown or discussed.

My uncle is into it too and made reservations at REEF, owned by Bryan Caswell contestant on Next Iron Chef (find review here).

My aunt, being as sweet as she is, wanted to get us even further into the action so found Lankford Grocery, which was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. We went for an early lunch (after visiting my uncle’s firehouse). There’s no reservations here so when we arrived, we had a small wait.

It’s a tiny place and there’s really no place to wait. So you have to stand right next to tables and keep moving to let the servers get by you. And, you’re just staring at everyone, waiting for someone to get up – and getting a little annoyed at how long they’re taking (I mean one woman was in a huge booth reading a book – come, on lady!).

It is a little run-down looking with tons of pictures of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. But, totally cute with lots of St. Patty’s Day decorations (clarification: it was close to St. Patty’s Day – not like leaving your Xmas lights up until July).

The service was quick and friendly. All the servers are there to help and none of them mind. It was really awesome! And, the bathroom, although not great, was a lot better than I expected.

Their claim to fame is burgers so when in Rome…we ordered burgers. They were giant! Luckily my husband and I split one – The South of the Border Burger. Dee-licious!

Supposedly, the milkshakes are pretty awesome too but we were too stuffed to try them! Overall, it was a win!

Here’s what I loved:

  • the food
  • the service

Here’s what I liked:

  • the atmosphere

Here’s what I didn’t love:

  • the parking
  • the waiting area
Have you been to Lankford Grocery?
What did you think? 

Leave a comment