Let’s Eat: West Side Gravy – Collingswood

West Side Gravy is a comfort food place. I actually prefer to call it the “Meatloaf Hut” since they have a great meatloaf dish. In fact, when we went there on this particular night, three out of four people got a meatloaf dish.

We went on a weeknight because my father-in-law was visiting us. Normally, I cook dinner when my in-laws come over but since my mother-in-law was having her own girls night out, we decided to go out too!

West Side Gravy wasn’t crowded at all. The service was super friendly. As I mentioned, they offer lots of comfort food. I’ve gotten the meatloaf before and loved it so I got it again. My father-in-law got this too. It comes with mashed potatoes and peas. I normally don’t love peas but when you eat it all together, it’s de-licious.

My son got the meatloaf sandwich with bacon. Pretty much, if it has bacon on it, my son is ordering it. He liked his too.

They offer a great kids menu with lots of variety. My daughter got the chicken fingers with fries and peas too. She loves peas!

At first we weren’t going to order dessert but my daughter was into it. I told her I didn’t think she’d like anything on there but when I read carrot cake, she perked up.

“I like carrot cake. It’s good.”

Of course, we like carrot cake too so it wasn’t a hard sale. My daughter ordered the carrot cake, asking for one and four spoons. The server brought our spoons but then came back a minute later to apologize. They didn’t have any carrot cake left.

WHAT?

Let the water works begin. Her mouth began to pout and her lip started to quiver but we reminded her we had some chocolate at home. She pulled it together and didn’t go nuts. The server felt so badly though!

Here’s what I loved:

  • the service
  • the food

Here’s what I liked:

  • the bathrooms
  • the atmosphere

Here’s what I didn’t love:

  • nothing
Have you visited West Side Gravy?
What did you think? 
2 thoughts on “Let’s Eat: West Side Gravy – Collingswood

  1. This is the father-in-law speaking – I ike West Side Gravy. Their meatloaf and mashed potatoes is great but their club sandwich is the BEST !
    And I really like the ‘sister’ restaurant (next door) for fine dining – Blackbird. Alex Capasso is a very exciting chef.
    But best of all, I like being with my family !

Leave a Reply

