Let’s Stay: Marriott Courtyard, Puerto Rico

Every year, my younger son and I go away for a few days. Just the two of us. Our tradition is only two years in the making but I’m hoping it continues forever. The first year, we went to Las Vegas (before you judge, read about it here).

For this trip, we chose Puerto Rico. I’ve been to Puerto Rico many times and I love it. Normally, my husband and I go. We stay in an area called Condado, which is awesome.

Side note: There are times when I tell people we’ve gone or are going to Puerto Rico and they look at me oddly – almost like it’s not a good place to go. Please let me be clear, Puerto Rico is an awesome place to visit. I’ve been to many areas and haven’t had a bad time yet!

My son had never been so was excited to go. For this trip, we choose to stay at the Marriott Courtyard. It’s close to the airport (and you won’t forget it – planes are noisy although you can’t hear it in your room).

We arrived early and were able to check into our room, thank goodness. I’m so appreciative when a hotel can accommodate an early check-in. Here’s the view from our room:

the good part

but don’t look down

We had great weather and really enjoyed the pool and beach area. Both were perfect. I love when it’s just the two of us because I’m forced to play catch and swim for hours with him, things I might not normally do (for so long) if his brother, sister or step-dad is with us.

It gives us time to connect and talk about all kinds of things. I know, I’m really lucky to be able to have this one on one time. I want you and the universe to know – I appreciate it!

We were only there two nights and ate both dinners at the hotel. Why? Because it was so good. Here’s our attempt at food pictures…

we’re working on it

And here is a little guest that joined us (below our table) one night:

And here is a little guest who joined us for breakfast:

Oh, and one of the best parts of this hotel – they have an ice cream bar in the lobby. Hello, late night visits for brownie sundaes!

Yum!

We had a great trip!

Here’s what I loved:

  • food, especially the ice cream bar
  • beach and pool areas

Here’s what I liked:

  • room
  • service
  • atmosphere

Here’s what I didn’t love:

  • loud airplanes
  • nachos poolside (the one bad thing we ate there)
2 thoughts on “Let’s Stay: Marriott Courtyard, Puerto Rico

  1. I agree about the importance of one-on-one time, although Aidan and I don’t pick such exotic locales! Ours is this Friday night: club box seats at game 1 of the 76ers Playoffs! 😉 How are the airfares to Puerto Rico? I like the idea that it’s not too long of a flight. Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

