Let’s Eat: Casona – Collingswood

On my birthday, my mother-in-law asked me if I’d like to go out for lunch. Um, yes! And, she even offered to let me pick the place. Awesome!

One of my favorite places to eat in Collingswood (the mecca of good restaurants right outside of Philadelphia) is Casona. As they say, “the little Havana in the heart of Collingswood.” I always love their food. So, guess where I picked?

Casona (you are so smart)!

One of the coolest parts about Casona is the outdoor porch seating. I love to sit out there and the day we went was perfect. Sunny and warm but not too hot. It wasn’t too crowded when we got there and were seated outside quickly.

We didn’t get appetizers but went right to the entrees. I got the Habana Maduro. Here is their description:

Ripened fried whole plantain filled choice of: seasoned chicken, ropa vieja or lechon topped with chihuahua cheese, sour cream, avocado sauce & chayote salad

Here is my description:

De-licious

You have to try it. They also serve it as an appetizer at dinner (if you go then).

My mother-in-law got the Casona Salad with Grilled Chicken. She liked it. The mango with the salad looked perfect! We didn’t get any dessert but they have a fine selection along with lots of coffees and teas.

Here’s what I loved:

  • Habana Maduro
  • the atmosphere

Here’s what I liked:

  • the rest of the food
  • the service

Here’s what I didn’t love:

  • nothing 🙂

Have you been to Casona? 
What did you think? 

Looking for others places to eat in Collingswood?
Here’s a few other places I’ve visited:

Little Louie’s
El Sitio
West Side Gravy
Zepolli

One thought on “Let’s Eat: Casona – Collingswood

Leave a Reply

