Evaluate Your Life

October 19th is officially Evaluate Your Life Day. It’s a national holiday.

What do you mean, “You’ve never heard of it”?

Okay, I hadn’t either. But, it has to be real if they make a wristband for it.

I do like the idea of it though. What I don’t like is when it falls. The middle of October. Huh?

I evaluate in January. I mean you have to take stock of your life every January. You might not be writing stuff down or making big plans but you’re thinking it about it. You can’t get away from it.

I also like to evaluate around my birthday, which is in June. It’s a good half-year mark to see my progress (if any) from January’s lists.

I also like to check-in on my goals in September. You know, back to school. Getting things in order. It just seems to fit.

But…the middle of October. I don’t know, it’s just not a good time in my mind. What do you think?

However, a national holiday is a national holiday. Who am I to argue? Now, I am not going to bore you with my lists (I love a good list and I make them on continual basis – I so wish there was a job or a contest or a gold medal or something for making lists…I would nail it!!).

What I am going to tell you is that in September when I did my third evaluation of the year, I decided my writing needed to get into gear (not me, really – just my writing). So, I’ve been working on a few projects, which I’ll be sharing more about them all in the next few months.

The first one is…a blog facelift. I’m leaving the free WordPress site and moving onto to a self-hosted version, which will provide me more flexibility.

Side note: Flexibility = More Work

I’m telling you right now, there will be a learning curve. If you notice some changes or weird things, stick with me. Please! As always, I will love any feedback you have.

And, Happy Evaluate Your Life Day!

Now that I’ve shared (a little), let me know what you think.
How will you celebrate Evaluate Your Life Day? 

l

3 thoughts on “Evaluate Your Life

  1. Congrats on your new site- looking forward to seeing more as you transition things over.

    As far as evaluating my life, I’m spending the day home sick but am GRATEFUL that I’m not sick often!

  2. Congrats on moving to a self-hosted. I’ve always enjoyed your site. Sorry about the more work, but it happens.

    I’ve always been self-hosted but my website had a makeover and I launched a new look on October 6th. I love the look but the process can be a pain. There were speed problems and they seem to be fixed, but you tend to worry, will they happen again.

    I might consider the evaluation as a blog for October 19th. An interesting thought.

Leave a Reply

