Hunger Games Read-Along Chapter 16

There may be people out there who haven’t read or heard about or The Hunger Games. I don’t know who they are or where they are but I’m assuming they might be out there.

If you are one of those people, stop reading this and click this link, order the books, wait by your mailbox and read them immediately. Then come back here and read this post!

Seriously, The Hunger Games is a great trilogy. I missed the Harry Potter boat with my first son but my niece (check out her blog too!) set me up so I wouldn’t miss out on this craze with my younger son – and thank goodness she did. These books are awesome and when I saw this Read-Along hosted by Howling Turtle and Obsessed with Books, I wanted to be a part of it.

I picked Chapter Sixteen to review (click the link above to review all the chapters).

I love this chapter.

I love it because it’s when Rue and Katniss really cement their bond. I love it when Katniss wants to give Rue the mockingjay pin. I love it when Rue won’t take it. I love it when Rue shares the secret mockingjay song (I can’t wait to actually hear that in the movie**). I love it because it’s when they team up to eliminate the Careers food supply.

But what I love most is when Katniss can’t figure out the secret trap of the food supply she doesn’t give up. She’s under pressure to come up with a solution and she still doesn’t give up. Then what happens? She figures it out!

What a great message – never give up! Even when the pressure is on. Even when the odds are stacked against you. Even when everything looks hopeless. Never give up!

Doesn’t the entire book just
motivate you to
do more,
try harder, and
never give up?

**Side note: This weekend, we bought the advance-purchase midnight showing movie tickets – so EXCITING!! 

Leave a comment